(1 - 3 of 3)
- Inis Leacan
- Set of index cards describing the local features of the townland of Inis Leacan [Inishlackan]. The ownership of the island is outlined from the 17th century, tracing its custodianship from the O'Flaherty clan, to the Blakes, the Broughton family from 1835, and Robert Macready of Ballinafad who bought it in 1900. Other sources of information consulted during this are listed as the 1st Report of the Fishery Commissioners, which came out in 1836, and Alex and John's log books, as well as a book entitled 'Three Men on an Island'. Some information on the Broughton family sourced in Griffith's Valuation is the subject of a couple of index cards. The features of Inis Leacan described here include Bodkin's House, some information about an account given by D'arcy Wentworth Thompson of a stay in Roundstone. Inis Leacan's school is also described, which closed in 1925 when the numbers fell below 25 pupils. The Mountain View Lodge, former home of the Broughton family, now a ruin is also described. Other physical features of the area that are described, are the Caorán, Duirling Mhór, The North Side of the island (as distinct from Trá Valley), Trá Valley (sometimes referred to as Trá an Bhaile), Carraig an Ghabhair, Fuaigh na Móna, Garraí Láir, Garraí Mór, Cnocán Mór, the Lighthouse Garden, Cnocán an tSagairt, Maoileann Garbh, Poll na Bantraí, Poll Bhairtleimíd, Poirín Beag, Poll na Cloiche, Trá na Feamainne, Cor na Cloiche, Raic Bay, Tóin an Oileáin, Trá Bheag, Aill na Brón, Poll na Stiúrach, Trá Roilligh, Barr na Leapa, Searrach Beag, Searrach Mór, Inis Leacan harbour, Poll Bréan, Inis Leacan beach, Cnocán an Ghréasaí, Cora Lín, Fuaigh Chaol, Carraig an Duilisc, Table Rock, Duirling na Glafaí, Carraig Íochtair, Céibh Mhaitiú, Carraig Báid Bán, Cloch Bhuí, Sceird, Lochán na mBallach, Garraí na Scraithe, Carraig na Ceilpe, Carraig an Iasc, Carraig na Leabhaí, Carraig na bPortán, Leachta Buí, Aill an Chipín, Carraig na gCon, Carraig na Beirtrí, and St. MacDara's well. Paddy McDonagh is a local source credited with providing information.
- Inis Ní
- Set of index cards describing the physical features of Inis Ní [Inishnee]. Located in Moyrus Civil Paris, and the Roman Catholic Parish of Roundstone. Robinson explains that Inis Ní is divided into three islands by very high tides. From North to South, these are Craobh, Cill, and An Ceann Ramhar. Data from the 1820, 1841, and 1851 census returns are included, Congested Districts Board data, some history of ownership dating back to the 16th century, and some information from the 1st Report of the Fishery Commissioners in 1836. Physical features which are described are: Tobar Cholm Cille [on the OS map, St Brendan's Monument is marked in the same place], Árd na gCapall, Caladh na bPortán, Caladh Flathartaigh, An Sruthar, Cloch Mhór Róisín, Poll Pháidí, Caladh Keane, Tuairín, Cora Mhór, Scaith Dhubh, Caorán, Glasoileán, Gleann na gCoileach, Carraig an Bhranda, Oileán an Chlaí, Loch Bheag, Gleann na gCat, Cnocán Mhairgín, An Storraicín [An Stoiricín], Aille an Gharraí Rua, Aille na Caillí, Cara Beag(a), Doilín Freangach, Caladh Cam, Cuan Leice, Poll Tobac, St. Mathias's Chapel, Na Bruachaí [Mud Hole], Maoilín Dóite, Cáblachaí, Caladh na Loinge, St. Brendan's Well, Inis Ní Lighthouse, Gleann na gCapall, Troscaí, Cnocán Árd Dhaibhéis, Oileán an Choirce, Aill na nÉan, Dóilín Mhór, Bóthrín Gaskin, An Chloch Bhiorrach, Croabh [Creevecarton], An Ceann Ramhar, Cill, Aill Dingle, An Duirling Bhán, Crompán Mór, Oileán na gCapall, Caladh Bháid Mhóir, Gleann Dúlamáin, Cnocán an Tuairín, An Comhartha, Cnocán Tine Cnáimh, Giúróg, Mhaidin an tSagairt, Cora Mháire Ní Iarla, Doire Fhatharta, Donegal, Carraig an Fox (connected with the story of the fox and the limpet - see also Fox Island, near Cashel), Cnocán an Fhatharta, Coirnéal Sáraithe, Cooneen na Roan, Cuainín, the Inis Ní Bridge, The Wire, Fort Island, Inis Ní National School, Muing na Fola, Daoláin, Tobar an Rí, and The Danes Fort. Many local sources are credited with providing information and stories. Those credited are Pádraig Nee, Festy Nee, Rose Green, Michael King, Mr Faherty, Martin Keene, Michael Keane, Conor Hamill, Paddy Folan, and Nimmo's map of 1823.
- Cloch na Rón
- Set of index cards describing some of the local ecclesiastical, historical, and geographical features of Roundstone, [Cloch na Rón]. Background information sourced from Hardiman, and from the 1849 sale of the Martin Estate which covers the building of a pier there by the Fisheries Board and Alexander Nimmo. Included in the descriptions are the 19th century Protestant Church and its memorials, the Presbyterian Meeting House which was demolished in 1930, the Presbyterian Church, the Franciscan Monastery, The Fort, (occupied for a while by Sting of 'The Police'), The Old Store, Garryowen, Srutháin na Srúille, the Harbour, Ballagh House, Roundstone Bay, Waymount, Clougherty's (a shop and pub, and the site of the current Garda station), Bólard, the Coastguard's Office (referred to as The Boat House in 1899 map), Farrell's Road (a site of several Famine graves), Ballagh House, Newton Buildings (now the site of the local Health Centre), The Old Quay, the Catholic Church which was built in 1830, and the knitting factory. Summary of some of the information from the Royal Commision of Inquiry into the State of Irish Fisheries, 1836, from the Roundstone Famine Relief Committee, and from the Martin Estate Sale document of 1849. One card giving an account entitled 'The Story of Alice', referring to Alice McCaulter. Noel King, Michael Verron, M. Bairéad, and John McQuaid are all credited with providing some of the information and anecdotes in these notes. The Galway Vindicator was also a source of information about the Roundstone Famine Relief Committee.